Business networking site LinkedIn has finally enabled a feature that allows its members to block other users after mounting pressure from its users,
This is great news to members who have had to deal with stalkers that had no way of hiding certain information on the site
Announced on the LinkedIn Help Center earlier this week, the social network for business users rolled out a new feature that’s been sought after by the community for quite some time. Bringing LinkedIn in line with social networks like Facebook and Twitter, users can now block specific member profiles on the site. To access the new feature, users simply visit the profile of the person they want to block and click the down arrow to the right of ‘Send InMail’ button and select the ‘Block or report’ option. According to the detail page, users can block up to 50 profiles, ideal for ditching stalkers, exes or even annoying recruiters.
If you were connected to the blocked profile previous, those connections won’t appear on the site anymore. In addition, endorsements and recommendations received from the blocked member will disappear. Finally, the ‘Who’s Viewed Your Profile’ feature will no longer show the blocked member and LinkedIn will stop suggesting the blocked user in the ‘People You May Know’ and ‘People also Viewed’ sections.
To block a member, head to that person’s LinkedIn profile and select the “Block or report” option from the drop-down menu next to the “Connect” and “Send InMail” buttons. But before you head to that person’s profile, the company suggests, turn on the anonymous profile-viewing feature, which lets you see other members’ LinkedIn pages without them knowing it.
Blocking a member will disallow both of you from seeing each other’s profile, and if you’re connected, that connection automatically breaks. You also won’t be able to message each other, and all endorsements and recommendations will be removed. The blocked person will not be notified that they’ve been shunned, and you can block up to 50 members at a time.
How do I block or unblock a member?
Go to the profile of the person you’d like to block.
Note: After you finish blocking someone, you will disappear from the Who’s Viewed Your Profile section of the person you blocked.
Move your cursor over the down arrow next to the button in the top section of the member’s profile. Button name may vary.
Select Block or Report next to the member’s name.
On the next screen, click Agree to confirm your action.
Once you’ve blocked a member, they’ll appear on your blocked list. The blocked member won’t receive any notification of this action. You may block up to 50 members on LinkedIn. Learn more about what blocking does and doesn’t do.To unblock a member:
Move your cursor over your profile photo in the top right of your homepage and select Privacy & Settings.
You may be prompted to sign in again.
Click Manage who you’re blocking at the bottom of the Profile tab under Privacy Controls.
From your blocked list, find the person’s name and click Unblock.